Ups! Disclaimer

IMG_2392

Well, Spring Break is over for both my children who are still in school. It was very nice to have them home. I had them one at the time, so I could spoil them individually. I don’t like this, I rather have my full family at the same time. But that’s how it works and I can’t do anything about it. I missed my oldest son who is racing in Europe (he is a professional cyclist) but he doesn’t have spring breaks anymore, I won’t see him until the summer, but he is very good at keeping in touch with e-mails, texts and FaceTime calls.

Anyway, when my children where home, they both told me (separately) how in my posts I have mishaps, grammar and spelling errors, and phrases that they can see I am translating from spanish and they don’t write them like that in english. We where laughing and laughing! I was defending my writing and they where trying to make me understand that they don’t say it that way in english much less write it. I speak spanish to all my family, I don’t want my children to forget their spanish, besides, it feels awkward to talk to them in english. English is my second language and I still speak more spanish than english on a daily basis.

Then, just two days ago, I was talking to my oldest son, and turns out he was correcting me too!!! So then I tought that they MUST be right!!

After laughing for a little bit, I kept thinking, am I such a bad writer? I hope not, and hope you can understand my ideas and my recipes. So… I truly apologize for all the dumb things I’ve written and might still write! Just laugh with me and not about me, and thank you for still follow me 🙂

13 thoughts on “Ups! Disclaimer

  1. Hey Lety! You’re doing great…so don’t let your sons rattle you! English is a trying language, even for those born into countries where it’s the primary tongue! We agree with Brittany (on both accounts), so do not worry. Also, the majority of people on WP are not professional writers (us included), so there is bound to be the odd mistake! However, everyone should act in a supportive and respectful manner; the ‘word police’ do not exist, so do not let anyone pretend otherwise! 🙂

    Like

  2. I have the same concerns and the same reaction from my kid. I can’t and don’t want to ask her every single time to correct my texts.
    Surly your post and all the comments are like a breath of fresh air. 🙂
    Thank you and for sharing!
    Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Whatever. Good we have kids to keep us smart, hey? I’m loving your posts. Even if you make a few mistakes, it’s totally easy to understand what you are saying. I speak only English so I’m the dumb one. Lol.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

