Artichokes from my garden!

Have you seen an artichoke flower fully bloomed? I’ve been saving this post so I can show you how beautiful an artichoke flower is. I harvested some artichokes from my backyard and I left one so it could bloom and I could admire such a beauty. I documented on pictures how it was changing. It actually took 3 weeks from the first picture you see to the last one I took. So Admire this amazing flower in its blooming stages.

Talking about food, in this case artichokes, I prepared hearts of artichokes with a mexican twist. Artichoke is low in calories, rich in fiber and antioxidants, minerals, and helps lower cholesterol. I am so glad I grow this beauty in my backyard. And I gave myself this flower as a gift for my 100 post!! Can’t believe it I have enjoyed blogging so much!!

HEARTS OF ARTICHOKE WITH JALAPE˜ÑO AND CHEESE

Ingredients

4 Artichokes

1 Jalapeño pepper

1 garlic

1 small all natural yogurt container

1/4 onion

1/2 cup shredded mild cheese

Salt

 

Directions

  • Have ready a pot with boiling water
  • Cut the edges of artichokes and throw them into boiling water
  • Cook them for 25 minutes

  • Meanwhile chop jalapeño, onion and garlic

  • Drain the water
  • Peel the artichokes and chop them
  • In a pan add 1 teaspoon of olive oil and sautee jalapeño, onion and garlic

  • When onion is translucent, add chopped artichoke

  •  Add yogurt and cheese

  • Let the cheese melt and serve

 

And here is my blooming flower:

 

 

 

 

 

15 thoughts on “Artichokes from my garden!

Leave a Reply

