What Motivates Me

IMG_0970

I have to confess that I haven’t been exercising regularly, at all. Between travels, having workers at home, cold weather and dealing with a shoulder injury, I just wasn’t able to go out and do something. Or I should say, I didn’t feel like doing anything.

It is hard to start from zero. It is very hard to recognize that I was able to do my classes without any problem and now I don’t have the strength in my muscles and I can’t perform my exercises as I used to. It is just hard to accept it. It is different being out of shape than feeling no strength in my muscles. So I don’t want to exercise. This is very sad because all my life I have done some kind of exercise, I’ve been physically active and now I just don’t feel like doing anything.

So knowing all the benefits that exercise brings to my body and mind, I had to make a pause and reflect on what motivates me to live a healthy life, like eating healthy, exercising and keeping my mind busy.

I came to the conclusion that my children (grown ups now) and my husband are my motivation to live a healthy life. I don’t want to age with medical issues that I could have easily prevented just by exercising and following a healthy diet. I don’t want to become a load for the people I love. As I watch my children grow and watch them choose their paths, I admire how they have become good independent people. I want to watch them continue growing and be a part of their lives and keep strengthening those bonds that we have built as a family, but without stealing their peace of mind.

Having said that, I am proud to say that I have returned to the gym (weather has been awful to go outside) and I am taking my time. I don’t want to have a shoulder set back and I know that before I know it I will be exercising as I used to. I know that pretty soon I will wake up without any neck, shoulder or back pain.

So what is your motivation to stay healthy? If you really haven’t thought about it, take a pause of your busy schedule and reflect on what motivates you to live a happy healthy life.

10 thoughts on “What Motivates Me

  1. Wonderful post Lety! I think it is important to know what motivates us to live happy and healthy lives…I am much like you, my family motivates me to maintain a healthy lifestyle. My kiddos are still at home, so they motivate me to learn how to make the healthiest choices, and have taught me that embracing a traditional diet grows the strongest kiddos. Knowing that raw milk for the ones you love is helping to grow them up strong makes milking that goat a little easier when the mosquitoes are thick, and the rain is falling!!! πŸ˜‰ LOL!!!! Thank you for sharing your heart! ❀
    Blessings~Wendy

    Like

  2. A couple of months back my doctor gave me the same reason to look after my health which you have written. All their lives women take care of their families but neglect themselves. I agree with you totally.

    Like

Leave a Reply

